and Minister of Health and Welfare; Attorney General and Minister of Labour; Minister of Lands and Forests; Minister of Finance; Minister of Agriculture; Minister of Mines and Minister of Municipal Affairs; Minister of Public Works; Minister of Railways, Minister of Trade and Industry, and Minister of Fisheries; Minister of Education. The Legislative Assembly, elected for a five-year period, has 48 members.

21.—Lieutenant-Governors of British Columbia, 1871-1948, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-48, and Present Ministry as at June 30, 1948

Note.—See headnote to Table 13, p. 104.

Lieutenant-Governors

Name	Date of Commission	Name	Date of Commission	
J. W. Trutch. Albert Norton Richards	June 27, 1876 June 21, 1881 Feb. 8, 1887 Nov. 1, 1892 Nov. 18, 1897 June 21, 1900 May 11, 1906	Sir Frank S. Barnard. Col. Edward G. Prior. Walter C. Nichol. R. Randolph Bruce. J. W. Fordham Johnson. Eric W. Hamber. LtCol. William C. Woodward. Col. the Hon, Charles Arthur Banks, C.M.G.	Dec. 24, 1920 Jan. 21, 1926 July 18, 1931 Apr. 29, 1936 Aug. 29, 1941	

Legislatures, 1934-481

Date of Election Legislature		Number of	Date of	Date of
		Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Nov. 2, 1933 June 1, 1937 Oct. 21, 1941 Oct. 25, 1945	18th General Assembly 19th General Assembly 20th General Assembly 21st General Assembly	5 4	Feb. 20, 1934	July 22, 1941

The Ministries from 1934-48 were: 22nd Ministry sworn in Nov. 15, 1933, under the leadership of Hon. T. D. Pattullo: 23rd Ministry, sworn in Dec. 10, 1941, under the leadership of Hon. John Hart; 24th Ministry, sworn in Dec. 29, 1947, under the leadership of Hon. B. I. Johnson, M.B.E.

2 Life of Legislature not yet expired.

Twenty-Fourth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, Oct. 25, 1945: 37 Coalition [26 Liberals, 11 Conservatives], 10 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation and 1 Labour.)

Office	Name	Date of Appointment	
Premier and President of the Council Provincial Secretary and Minister of Health and Welfare. Attorney General and Minister of Labour Minister of Lands and Forests. Minister of Finance Minister of Agriculture Minister of Mines and Minister of Municipal Affairs Minister of Public Works. Minister of Railways, Minister of Trade and Industry and Minister of Fisheries Minister of Education	Hon. Byron Ingemar Johnson, M.B.E. Hon. George Sharratt Pearson. Hon. Gordon Sylvester Wismer, K.C. Hon. Edward Tourtellotte Kenney. Hon. Herbert Anscomb Hon. Frank Putnam. Hon. Roderick Charles MacDonald. Hon. Ernest Crawford Carson. Hon. Leslie Harvey Eyres. Hon. William Thomas Straith, K.C.		